Categories
Argus C3 Journal Photography

Quaker Pond at Mendon Ponds Park

I spent the afternoon of July 13 hiking around Quaker Pond at Mendon Ponds Park just south of Rochester. I took pictures.

Yes, I’m still here. Life has been more than a little strange with five people, four cats, and two dogs in a house that is used to having two people and two cats. But we’re alive, healthy, and hanging in there.

The photos are from Monday, July 13. I spent the afternoon hiking around Quaker Pond at Mendon Ponds Park just south of Rochester. It is a beautiful and much loved park with nooks and crannies and memorials all over.

Argus C3 “Brick” with the 50mm lens
Arista 200 / D76, Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

First, It seems that the Monroe County Parks department collected a bunch of stumps and such from various parks and placed them atop a bare hill where the Nature Center had been back when I was in grade school. They did a beautiful job of setting up a sculpture ring, some carved, some natural. As you can see, I rather enjoyed it.

One the other side of the hill is the Quaker Pond trail. I walked across the little bridge over the outlet stream then looped back across the swamp trail to close to where I had started. I continued south along the east side of the pond then back up through the woods along the west side. I ended up on a side trail on the north side then back across the outlet and over the hill to the car.

By Steven Tryon

I am a photographer, walker, and sometime paddler, a theologically-educated geek living in Rochester, NY. Once upon a time I was an Army helicopter jockey in Alaska. Supports gay/lesbian/trans/whatever folks.

I started with film, switched to digital, then went back to classic film cameras.

3 replies on “Quaker Pond at Mendon Ponds Park”

Leave a comment